-But if you'd rather watch a movie, you're also welcome at
Disorder in Discipline-

Sunday 17 January 2010

William S. Burroughs, Nothing here now but the recordings (IR 0016 LP, 1981)

Call it a gift, you can: A compilation of William S. Burroughs' tape experiments & cut-ups from 1959 through 1978, only released in 1981 on Industrial Records (IR 0016), the legendary label managed by Throbbing Gristle. Rarely but sometimes, you find one or two vinyl copies on Discogs exchanging around... 666 and 999 dollars... (and i know you don't have the money worth). Of course, the sleeve notes are by Genesis P-Orridge.
Well... The total taste is here, as Exterminator Bill said, and for free - you just have to click on side one and two... Take time to listen.

Side One (21:44)
A1 "Captain Clark Welcomes You Aboard"
A2 "The Saints Go Marching Through All The Popular Tunes"
A3 "Summer Will"
A4 "Outside The Pier Prowed Like Electric Turtles"
A5 "The Total Taste Is Here" - News Cut-Up
A6 Choral Section, Backwards
A7 "We See The Future Through The Binoculars Of The People"
A8 "Just Checking Your Summer Recordings"

Side Two (22:21)
B1 Creepy Letter - Cut-Up At The Beat Hotel In Paris
B2 Inching - "Is This Machine Recording?"
B3 "Handkerchief Masks" - News Cut-Up
B4 "Word Falling - Photo Falling"
B5 Throat Microphone Experiment
B6 "It's About Time To Identify Oven Area"
B7 Last Words Of Hassan Sabbah

(thanx the fantastic friendsound blog for helping us sharing this one)

No comments:

Post a Comment